Abesi Manyando
3 min readNov 30, 2018

Rising Cinematographer Supa Dupaa Talks Inspirations, Future Plans & More

Self-taught cinematographer Supa Dupaa’s rise to success is gaining even more momentum after having his music video premiere on WE TV’s GUHH (Growing Up Hip-Hop). Supa is consistency personified as he has endured countless hardships and troubles in garnering the acquired attention that has been bestowed upon his career today. From trial and error to displaying masterful prowess as a cinematographer, who would have known what was in store for this PA native.

In this Q&A we get a look at the story behind this new emerging super-cinematographer.

Q: What inspired you to become a cinematographer/shooter?

A: I felt like a lot of people were rapping and a good cameraman was needed at that time. That was back in 2010.

Q: What did you have to learn to achieve your goal and how did you learn?

A: Honestly, I don’t really set goals. I just say the things that I want to do and do it. This was the first year I set a New Year’s resolution and knocked it out the park, so maybe you can consider that a goal.

Q: What is your advice for young kids who want to pursue their goals in music, TV and film?

A: Research, link with good people, and just don’t stop. Remember to grow and get a mentor if possible.

Q: How would you describe your style of work?

A: Self-taught, with twist of cinematic. I’m not generic.

Q: What is the hardest part about your profession ?

A: I would say having faith and believing in yourself. Seeing what other people don’t see in you & taking chances.

Q: Only a small percentage of the population make it, why do you think that is ?

A: A lot of people don’t believe in themselves. If they do, it’s not for a long, consistent period of time, and most not willing to make sacrifices.

Q: What do you bring to film, television and music that is different from everyone else ?

A: My eye for things, knowing and feeling what’s right. My future predictions of where I see things tomorrow.

Q: Who in the entertainment industry do you look up to ?

A: Film-wise, Tyler Perry, Denzel, Spike Lee, Kevin Hart, Ice Cube. In TV, Martin, 50-cent, Lee Daniels. In music, Puffy ,DJ Khaled, Yo Gotti , Future, Master P, Lil Baby, Coach K & Pee.

Q: What was it like being on Growing Up Hip-Hop and do you feel that was an accurate reflection of your word ?

A: Filming was different, I didn’t know what to expect. They did a great job of showing what I represent and do.

Q: What can we expect from you going forward ?

A: More TV appearances, more directed music videos and more production from new talent discovered by me and my recording studio (Professional Studios).

Reported by Derrius Edwards